The past 4 weeks

Standard

I had a baby guys. Three weeks ago actually. I’m sleep deprived and loving it (sort of – I love the little guy causing the sleep deprivation (and his older siblings who for the love of sleep and mornings, cannot stay in bed past 6am…someone is always up early #bigfamilyprobs) but not necessarily the forgetting of my kids birthdays at the pharmacy #somanybirthdays).

Anyway, about 4 weeks ago we learned that our little guy would be born via induction at 37 weeks. Crazy, huh? While I was ready to be done hosting a little dance party 24/7 in my uterus, I was also not quite ready to give birth. I don’t love birthing children. It hurts. I cry. I think I can’t push one more time. Plus the horror stories people post all. the. time. about inductions do nothing but ad fear to the process (seriously people, lets stop the scary stories just to scare people and make all doctors sound like they are out to cut you open).

I will share my experience with induction soon but for now you will have to settle for the events that led up to the decision to choose this little peanuts birthday.

The day before I was 36 weeks was a loooong day. Eden had an eye appointment that took an hour, then I had to drop her off at school, then I got a call saying she forgot running shoes and needed them for the run thing going on that day, so I had to pack up all the kids drop those off, and then go back home and basically scarf some food down before my doctor’s appointment. All I had drank that day was coffee, a mocha, and a Mt Dew. I know, real healthy. I was exhausted that day and really dropped the ball on my water intake. This of course led to my blood pressure being slightly elevated which means the dreaded 24 hour urine collection plus blood work and now an NST just for kicks.

Everything turned out fine on Friday. My blood pressure went back to normal once I had my NST because I drank a ton of water. But the thing was, I had to have another NST when I dropped off my jug of pee the very next day.

I went to drop off my pee jug and got set up for another lovely NST. Not my ideal way to spend a Saturday night but not the worst way either. A half-hour into the NST (which was longer than they are supposed to be but my doctor had to give the okay that things were indeed good) baby’s heart rate dropped for seven minutes (their heart rates are supposed to be above 120 and his was 70s/80s).

I don’t really remember much of what went on except that about 5 nurses came rushing in and I was turned on my right side, then left, then on all fours, and then they started helping me take my clothes off and put an IV in my arm. Seriously people, those nurses became pseudo BFFs to me. They helped me stay calm and reassured me every step of the way (I had insisted that Garrett not come since it was dinner time and it wasn’t supposed to be anything crazy). They helped me call Garrett and made me laugh (seriously, laughter is my jam) while we waited for something to happen. The whole time I kept singing Good, Good Father in my head knowing that He was going to give me just what I needed before I knew I needed it.

In the end, Garrett arrived quickly and held my hand. The doctor came and baby’s heart rate went back to normal. I was admitted for monitoring for 24 hours. It wasn’t ideal but both him and I were deemed healthy and safe (the doctor thinks baby laid on his cord and it wasn’t until I sat straight up that he moved off of it).

And you guys, we have the best of friends. We called up our favorite “rental” parents and they stayed with our five kids overnight and took them to church the next day. The prayers that were prayed for us calmed us in a situation that could have really shaken us up. Our community rocks! Seriously! I can’t thank everyone enough!!!!!!

Oh you know, just hanging out getting a non-stress test.

Oh you know, just hanging out getting a non-stress test.

Doing what I do best during pregnancy. Looking at magazines, eating oreos, and watching netflix.

Doing what I do best during pregnancy. Looking at magazines, eating oreos, and watching netflix.

Baby boy!!!!!

Baby boy!!!!!

My very expensive lunch date. (The food sucked and so does the bill but the company was great!)

My very expensive lunch date. (The food sucked and so does the bill but the company was great!)

More of the same...NST time!

More of the same…NST time!

Leave a Reply

