Family Camp

Standard

This week we had the wonderful opportunity to attend Family Camp at Village Creek Bible Camp. We aren’t really camp people but it was offered to us for free (plus some friends from church were going, so it was even better). And if you are a member of our family long enough you know the word “free” is synonymous with “yes” and we never turn down free opportunities even if it means doing something we aren’t sure we will like.

Anyway, it turned out to be the best vacation we have taken our family on maybe ever! As I was getting dinner on the table last night and completely exhausted, I told Garrett that that was one of the most refreshing (even though the sleep was much less than I normally desire for myself and all my little people) vacations we have taken as a family and that we have to do it again!

The thing that rocked my socks off about the whole experience was having two staff assistants (camp counselors) assigned to our family. They were with us from about 7:45 to about 9pm each night. They watched our kids on the playground while I got to fellowship with other women and not worry about counting heads. They held the baby when I needed to run up to the cabin and grab something and held her just because she is so stinkin’ squishy. They took our kids to stuff while other kids napped. They cleaned up our table after every meal and were just pretty awesome if you ask me! By the end, our kids (especially, Cooper, Garrison, and probably Nora too – she was loved on by all the baby loving girl counselors that could get their hands on her) had fallen in love with every single counselor there (and they maybe tried to join other families as well). I’m not going to lie when I say that everyone pretty much knew Cooper and Gary by name and chanted it when they shot off their rockets the last day.

I’m sure going to Disneyland would be awesome and maybe some day we will have the money and time and energy to take our small army there but this just seems like an amazing vacation that our kids are still talking about!

Anyway, I didn’t have much of a phone signal and didn’t really care. I did try and keep my phone with me to be aware of times and stuff so I was able to snap a few crappy photos to share with you:-)

Driving into camp. Not really sure what we signed up for.

Driving into camp. Not really sure what we signed up for.

Our lovely, modern kitchen/living room. I am thinking I might remodel our house to look like this.

Our lovely, modern kitchen/living room. I am thinking I might remodel our house to look like this.

Exploring.

Exploring.

Front porch swingin'.

Front porch swingin’.

Our kids LOVED this park. They played there as much as humanly possible and never got bored.

Our kids LOVED this park. They played there as much as humanly possible and never got bored.

Nora went exploring underneath the beds.

Nora went exploring underneath the beds.

My little hiking companion.

My little hiking companion.

Who knew Iowa could look this beautiful!

Who knew Iowa could look this beautiful!

I'm sure there is a story with these boats.

I’m sure there is a story with these boats.

Creek.

Creek.

Creek.

Creek.

Arts and crafts and random names my kids chose to paint.

Arts and crafts and random names my kids chose to paint.

We came home and I told everyone to take off their shoes...Garrison brought quite a little bit of camp home with him!

We came home and I told everyone to take off their shoes…Garrison brought quite a little bit of camp home with him!

Leave a Reply

