Time

Standard

February was a rough month on us. Real rough. Of course that means our entire family would get the worst stomach bug ever while Garrett was gone to end the month well.

Seriously, it sucked. I remember laying in bed Sunday afternoon telling Garrett (he arrived home on Saturday, just in time for me to take a turn for the worse) that I know how people die from diarrhea. He asked if I thought I was dying. At that moment no but I had debated in the middle of the night whether I should go to the ER because at that time I thought it might never end and I wouldn’t live to tell the tale. It was that bad folks.

But we survived. The house got bleached (every bleach-able surface). Every single thing my kids touched got washed (I am not even lying about that). My hands are cracked and peeling and itching from washing and cleaning. I am finally not exhausted from nursing a baby, cleaning up puke, and taking care of sick, helpless little people (five kids seems like a bajillion kids when they have stuff coming out of both ends…all of them…at the same time).

Time has seemed to go by so stinkin’ fast this month and yet sooooooo stiiiiiiiiinkin’ slooooooow this month and I honestly can’t seem to recall most of the mundaneness of it because it was cray-cray (maybe I will tell you about it).

Anyway, life has returned to us all full-force and we are ready for spring and sunshine and daisies and walks and parks and bikes and our doors always being open.

He had a rough night. Stitches and a stomach bug...not a good combo...

He had a rough night. Stitches and a stomach bug…not a good combo…

This was my house. Every day last week starting Wednesday, give or take laundry baskets of stuff to fold.

This was my house. Every day last week starting Wednesday, give or take laundry baskets of stuff to fold.

Sitting in the sick chair. Playing with the leap pad. Watching cartoons.

Sitting in the sick chair. Playing with the leap pad. Watching cartoons.

This was a pic of me turning 29 (and I guess this is what turning 29 really looks like with 5 kids). Exhausted. Dirty. Holding a sweet, sick babe.

This was a pic of me turning 29 (and I guess this is what turning 29 really looks like with 5 kids). Exhausted. Dirty. Holding a sweet, sick babe.

One response »

  1. Happy birthday!! And I am SOOO sorry about the stomach bug. We have not left the house for weeks because everyone was getting it and I am terrified of it. We all got it twice last year and at least once every year before that. I always say that with the littles I will take colds and fevers over the stomach bug any day of the week! I hate cleaning vomit out of cribs every night in the middle of the night. And of course everyone gets it one at a time so I am cleaning up vomit for an entire month! So horrible. I feel you.

Leave a Reply

