The heavy stuff

Standard

Garrett and I pray for our children a lot. We pray with them too. We often pray that they come to know who Christ is and what he has done for them. I pray that they ask questions about who Jesus is, about eternity, about true life, and yes, about death. But honestly, I pray that when they ask these questions its their dad who is there to answer because I clam up and worry that everything that comes out of my mouth is just a bunch of verbal diarrhea that hits the floor instead of their souls.

Last week a friend from my high school youth group’s father passed away suddenly. It was a shock to the family and everyone who knew him. I cried a lot that week. Cooper tried to comfort me since Garrett was out of town and he managed to do a pretty good job.

But then one night at dinner Eden started asking questions. She asked about my friend’s dad. We talked about life; true life in Christ. About death and separation from the Father (her exact question was, “Why do we want to spend eternity with Jesus?” That one was tough and easy at the same time). I may have pitted out the entire time we talked and then prayed the rest of the evening that God would use my shaky words for something bigger and better than just our dinner time conversation.

I always feel like these more serious posts end in me not knowing where I am going (I start these because I want to remember these moments) and here I sit not knowing where to go or what to say. But I want my friend, his family, and his mother to know that even though my little girl never met him, his life in Christ provoked conversations between my five year old and me that I have prayed to God would happen. God is still using him. I want them to know that. He is causing me to shed tons of happy tears as I think of how Christ is using him in my children’s lives. He was a good man. And I am so very thankful for knowing him.

In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise

Give me Jesus.
Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus.
You can have all this world,
Just give me Jesus.

When I am alone,
When I am alone,
When I am alone,
Give me Jesus.

Give me Jesus.
Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus.
You can have all this world,
Just give me Jesus.

When I come to die,
When I come to die,
When I come to die,
Give me Jesus.

Give me Jesus.
Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus.
You can have all this world,
Just give me Jesus.

Give me Jesus.
Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus.
You can have all this world,
You can have all this world,
You can have all this world,
Just give me Jesus.

Leave a Reply

