Purdue wins!

Standard

Today I put Garrison in his Purdue t-shirt.  He had an appointment at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and clearly I wasn’t thinking because everyone pointed out what he was wearing.  I was just thankful to find clean clothes to put him in.  That is besides the point.

Today we got the great news that Garrison never has to see his nephrologist again.  Like they are never, ever, ever getting back together.  They are breaking up with up with us and saying they don’t want to see us again.  In the most loving way of course.  We couldn’t be happier!

A mere three months ago we were told that he would need to be seen throughout his childhood.  The appointments would gradually get spaced further apart as he got older as long as he stayed stable.  Something changed.  Maybe it was the fact that they didn’t want a rivalry t-shirt in their hospital anymore or it could be that they felt his kidneys were functioning the way any other child his age would be.  Who knows.  Who cares.  All I know is God answered our prayers.

Today at lunch as we prayed over our food, we asked God to heal Garrison and that he wouldn’t have to go back to the nephrologist anymore.  I knew what they had said but I knew God was bigger than our doctor and that nothing was impossible.  Not that I necessarily believed fully that it would be the case but it never hurts to ask, right?

God answered that prayer.  And God answered the prayers of many friends and family who prayed for our little guy.  I am overwhelmed by God’s kindness in answering this particular prayer, at this particular time.

This time last year I was getting ultrasound after ultrasound to check on him and his kidneys.  A year later I get to hear the words “normal functioning” and “no need to come back” and “he is doing great.”

This time last year my Connection Group was praying for our little G.  And I still remember a week before he was born having them lay their hands on me and praying over me that God would heal our baby boy.  And He did.

Before I bore you with all the reasons why it amazes me that we got the all clear today and how even in the little things surrounding this I see the hand of God, I just want to say THANK YOU JESUS!  His timing is perfect!  And I mean PERFECT!

I often forget to thank God for what He has done.  So tonight I am full of praise for each and everything He has done and continues to do in our little family!  So, if you prayed for my son, thank God for answering your prayer.  No prayer was too small or went unheard.  And if you never prayed for our son, still give thanks to God for the ways He has answered prayers in your own life because God is always faithful and loving and kind and good.

Nelson 5-1

 

“O Praise Him (All This For A King)”
Turn your ear
To heaven and hear
The noise inside
The sound of angels’ awe
The sound of angels’ songs
And all this for a King
We could join and sing
All to Christ the King

How constant, how divine
This song of ours will rise
O, how constant, how divine
This love of ours will rise
Will rise

O praise Him
O praise him
He is Holy
He is Holy (yeah)

Turn your gaze
To heaven and raise
A joyous noise
The sound of salvation come
The sound of rescued ones
And all this for a King
Angels join to sing
All for Christ our King

Oh la, la, la, la, la, la

How infinite and sweet
This love so rescuing
O, how infinitely sweet
This great love that has redeemed
As one we sing

Alleluia
Alleluia
He is Holy
He is Holy (yeah)

 

Leave a Reply

