Badges of motherhood

Standard

I look at my hands and they are cracked and dry.

My nails are short and one is broken to the quick.

My wedding ring has food particles stuck in it.

My hands are worn.

I look at my clothes and they are wrinkled and dirty.

My shirt has food stains from little hands and my pants have snot marks from little noses.

My clothes are worn.

I look at my eyes and they are tired.

My eyes have dark rings under them from lack of sleep and make up smudged at the corners.

My eyes are worn.

I look at my hair and it is messy.

My hair is in its second day of the same pony tail and has not been washed or combed in over 24 hours.

My hair is worn.

These are my badges.

This is motherhood.

Leave a Reply

