Sundays are meh

Standard

I have a love-hate relationship with Sundays.  I love them because it is the one day a week I am guaranteed most likely to get out of the house with a shower, my hair AND whole face put on (not just my lovely free chapstick).  It is also the day that I get to go and experience corporate worship at a wonderful church.  And that is really the best part!

But what comes with attending a church that is a good 20 to 30 minutes away is chaos at home.  Every Sunday morning I am rushing around (especially if my Awesome Husband is up at the butt crack of dawn practicing the music set) trying to get four people dressed, fed, and in the car.  This is no easy task.  Someone inevitably poops as we walk out the door and I spend five minutes trying to decide whether to change it now or just roll down the windows in the car and pretend I hadn’t noticed.  The kids spend a good 30 to 45 minutes glued to a movie while I attempt to shower and mow shave my hairy legs and get the diaper bag packed.  Then there is the recurring nap dilemma – do I try and lay Sweet Baby Jo down at home for an early usually unsuccessful nap or keep her up and try to get her to nap in the car on the way there.  Either way she is a fussy mess for whoever watches her (sorry!).

And finally, the afternoon naps for everyone.  They never happen the way they are supposed to.  Take for instance yesterday:  Sweet Baby Jo fell asleep in the car on the way home and then would not go back down for a nap until 4pm.  Duder and Nug were past their prime getting-them-to-nap time and Nug didn’t go to sleep until 3:45.  Duder finally was asleep at 2.  It was exhausting.

I am not writing this to sound like I am amazing because I sacrifice so much to attend church with a smile.  Because there are plenty of Sundays where I would rather give up at the first diaper change and just sit at home and wallow and wish that my kids could tie their own shoes.  I am not writing this to make you feel bad for me because I don’t feel bad for myself. This is me saying, mom’s out there, I get your pain on Sundays.  It is not an easy thing to attend church but what a wonderful thing it is to know that Jesus is there in the midst of the chaos and tears and wallowing and that he is AWESOME enough to still want us and our baggage.  And it does help A LOT to attend a church body that is speaking Jesus, that is challenging us, that is convicting us of sin, that is pushing us to share the Gospel.  That makes the crappyness of Sundays totally worth it.

One response »

  1. sounds almost exactly like our sundays. our naptimes don’t get as screwed up it doesn’t sound like, but other than that, i’m totally with you.

Leave a Reply

