The food we eat

Standard

Today Duder and I stayed home from church because even though he has been himself since he ate breakfast yesterday morning, I didn’t think it would be the best thing to expose his possible germy self to all the other little people.

After a lazy morning listening to Christmas music and lounging we decided to go to Target and pick up a few things (and yes I know it is weird that I didn’t want to take him to church but Target was acceptable).  After picking up our cork board and little girl socks, I was starting to feel hungry and I was guessing from the melt down over unloading the cart, he was hungry too.  We went to Panera to grab some food to go.  I ordered soup for myself and a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for Duder (I told them to only put peanut butter on it).  We get home and sit down to eat and his sandwich is literally just jelly.  No peanut butter.  I then had to make some food for him to eat quick, no biggy but I was kind of mad that I wasted $4 on a jelly sandwich.

Then I started thinking.  I am lucky that I not only can choose what my children and I eat for lunch each day (and every meal for that matter) but the fact that if it doesn’t turn out the way I thought it should, I can just make something else.  How blessed am I?  How rich am I?  There are people all over the world who either go hungry or are forced to eat the only food that is available because they have nothing else.

So today I am thankful for the fact that I have been given much when I deserve little or, more rightly, nothing at all.

“Give us this day our daily bread.” Luke 11:3

I have been given my daily bread and much more and am thankful.

Leave a Reply

