Do you ever?

Standard

Sometimes I like to emphasize things that my children have done or that I do for my them.  And sometimes I under-emphasize the things that I do that don’t make me seem like a super-mom.  Does that make any sense at all?  It is honestly really dumb.  I can admit to most people and to the blogging world what I do with my children.  But there are times when I just can’t seem to own up to the fact that I don’t do “everything” out there and that my children aren’t perfect little angels that make me smile every single minute of every single day.

I feel like there are things that I would like to do but those take time away from other areas that I feel are important specifically to me and my family that aren’t necessarily what other families deem as priorities (and there is nothing wrong with that).  There are times that I will try and fit that I made baby food into a conversation, even though I am just really trying to brag saying “look at me, I can juggle two kids and still make baby food.  I am awesome.”  But little do people know that I feed Duder mainly jarred baby food – it’s organic though and that makes me awesome (see here I go again).  Or when people ask me about Nug and how many words she says I stammer because no matter how hard I try Nug just doesn’t want to talk unless she feels like it.  And then I feel guilty that I didn’t do enough to get her to say every word known to man.  Or I tell people that Nug goes to sleep really well in her toddler bed even though most kids her age are still in cribs (and believe me, there are still days I wish we hadn’t converted her crib).

Being a mom stinks sometimes.  Not the motherhood aspect but the *otherhood aspect.  Trying to live up to every other mother’s awesomeness is getting pretty tiring and I am not going to do it anymore.  My children may eat macaroni every once in awhile or chicken nuggets or jarred baby food or still suck on pacifiers but it works and I love them.  And that is what is most important.

*otherhood = word I made up to describe trying to live up to other mother’s perceived awesomeness

2 responses »

  1. Admitting your weaknesses makes you even more admirable. Thanks for being so real, Karlee. You’re a wonderful mama!

  2. I couldn’t help but comment to say that I agree…and find myself in the same trap a lot. With mothering, as well as with many other tasks in life, we need to refocus ourselves on striving for excellence that’s defined by our own family only — and that’s motivated by a desire to see our own children thrive…not our own ego. 🙂

Leave a Reply

